Case 2023AP001399 09-24-24 Court Order Filed 09-24-2024 Page 1 of 5





## Supreme Court of Misconsin

110 EAST MAIN STREET, SUITE 215 P.O. BOX 1688 MADISON, WI 53701-1688

> TELEPHONE (608) 266-1880 FACSIMILE (608) 267-0640 Web Site: www.wicourts.gov

> > September 24, 2024

To:

Daniel S. Lenz

Electronic Notice

Jeffrey A. Mandell
Electronic Notice

Scott B. Thompson Rachel A. Snyder Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Douglas M. Poland \*Distribution List Continued on Pages 3-5. Electronic Notice

You are hereby notified that the Court has issued the following order:

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

In our December 22, 2023 decision, this court enjoined the "Elections Commission from using [the prior] legislative maps in all future elections" because the maps violated the Wisconsin Constitution. <u>Clarke v. WEC</u>, 2023 WI 79, ¶56, 410 Wis. 2d 1, 998 N.W.2d 370. We stated, however, that "[s]hould the legislative process produce a map that remedies the contiguity issues discussed above, there would be no need for this court to adopt remedial maps." <u>Id.</u>, ¶57. The Legislature subsequently passed and the Governor signed what became 2023 Wisconsin Act 94, enacting new state legislative district maps.

The enactment of 2023 Wis. Act 94 has rendered moot petitioners' request that this court adopt new remedial legislative district maps. Accordingly, the court will grant a motion to dismiss that was filed on March 11, 2024, by the Wisconsin Legislature and the Republican Senator Respondents. The court will also dismiss as moot a pending motion for reconsideration of the December 22, 2023 post-decision scheduling order filed by the Wisconsin Legislature and the Republican Senator Respondents, as well as a pending motion to subpoena Dr. Grofman and

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Republican Senator Respondents are Rachael Cabral-Guevara, Rob Hutton, Andre Jacque, John Jagler, Jesse James, Chris Kapenga, Devin LeMahieu, Howard Marklein, Stephen Nass, Romaine Robert Quinn, Cory Tomczyk, and Van Wangaard.

Case 2023AP001399 09-24-24 Court Order Filed 09-24-2024 Page 2 of 5

Page 2 September 24, 2024

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Dr. Cervas, the court's consultants, or to strike their February 1, 2024 report, which was filed by the Wisconsin Legislature, the Republican Senator Respondents, and the Johnson Intervenors-Respondents.<sup>2</sup> The dismissal of these pending motions and the remaining requests for relief in the original action petition will close this action. Accordingly,

IT IS ORDERED that the March 11, 2024 motion to dismiss this case is granted, and this action is hereby dismissed as moot; and

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the January 22, 2024 motion for reconsideration and the February 8, 2024 motion to subpoena Dr. Grofman and Dr. Cervas or to strike their February 1, 2024 report are dismissed as moot.

Samuel A. Christensen Clerk of Supreme Court

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> The Johnson Intervenors-Respondents are Billie Johnson, Chris Goebel, Ed Perkins, Eric O'Keefe, Joe Sanfilippo, Terry Moulton, Robert Jensen, Ron Zahn, Ruth Elmer, and Ruth Streck.

Case 2023AP001399 09-24-24 Court Order Filed 09-24-2024 Page 3 of 5

Page 3

September 24, 2024

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

## **Distribution List Continued:**

T.R. Edwards Nicholas O. Stephanopoulos

Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Mark P. Gaber John Freedman
Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Ruth M. Greenwood Elisabeth S. Theodore Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Steven C. Kilpatrick Rachel C. Tucker Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Charlotte Gibson Daniel M. Vitagliano Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Karla Z. Keckhaver Taylor A.R. Meehan Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Jessie Augustyn

Electronic Notice

Kevin M. St. John
Electronic Notice

Tamara Packard Matthew H. Frederick Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Eduardo E. Castro

Electronic Notice

Scott A. Keller

Electronic Notice

Annabelle E. Harless

Gabriela Gonzalez-Araiza
Electronic Notice

Electronic Notice

Brent Ferguson Adam K. Mortara Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Benjamin Phillips Shannon Grammel Electronic Notice Electronic Notice

Richard M. Esenberg Electronic Notice

Luke N. Berg Electronic Notice Page 4

September 24, 2024

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Nathalie E. Burmeister Electronic Notice

Anthony D. Russomanno

Electronic Notice

Brian P. Keenan Electronic Notice

Faye B. Hipsman Electronic Notice

Mel Barnes Electronic Notice

Sarah A. Zylstra Electronic Notice

Tanner G. Jean-Louis Electronic Notice

Dax L. Goldstein Electronic Notice

Christine P. Sun Electronic Notice

John B. Hill Electronic Notice

Jessica Amunson Electronic Notice

Sam Hirsch Electronic Notice

Arjun Ramamurti Electronic Notice

Elizabeth Deutsch Electronic Notice

Michael R. Ortega Electronic Notice C'Zar Bernstein Electronic Notice

Tony Wilkin Gibart Adam Voskuil Daniel P. Gustafson Midwest Environmental Advocates 634 W. Main St. Suite 201 Madison, WI 53703

Robert Yablon Bryna Godar State Democracy Research Initiative University of Wisconsin Law School 975 Bascom Mall Madison, WI 53706

Matthew W. O'Neill Fox, O'Neill & Shannon, S.C. 622 North Water Street Milwaukee, WI 53202

Margo S. Kirchner Wisconsin Justice Initiative, Inc. P.O. Box 100705 Milwaukee, WI 53210

Daniel J. Schneider 2707 W. Augusta Blvd., Unit 2 Chicago, IL 60622

Nathan J. Kane WMC Litigation Center 501 East Washington Avenue Madison, Wisconsin 53703

Samuel T. Ward-Packard Elias Law Group LLP 250 Mass. Ave. NW, Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20001 Case 2023AP001399 09-24-24 Court Order Filed 09-24-2024 Page 5 of 5

Page 5 September 24, 2024

No. 2023AP1399-OA Clarke v. Wisconsin Elections Commission

Nicholas E. Fairweather Hawks Quindel S.C. 409 E Main Street Madison, WI 53703

Abha Khanna Elias Law Group LLP 1700 Seventh Ave., Suite 2100 Seattle, WA 98101

William K. Hancock Julie Zuckerbrod Elias Law Group LLP 250 Mass. Ave. NW, Suite 400 Washington, D.C. 20001

Jonathan B. Miller Michael Adame Public Rights Project 490 43rd Street, #115 Oakland, CA 94609

Prof. Jonathan Cervas
Carnegie Mellon Institute for Strategy and
Technology
5000 Forbes Ave.
Pittsburgh, PA 15213

Prof. Bernard Grofman UC Irvine School of Social Sciences 5229 Social Science Plaza B Irvine, CA 92697

Dixon R. Gahnz Lawton Cates, S.C. P.O. Box 2965 Madison, WI 53703

Barry J. Blonien David M. Oppenheim Bock Hatch & Oppenheim, LLC 203 N. LaSalle St., Ste. 2100 Chicago, IL 60601