

STATE OF ARIZONA DIVISION ONE



DIVISION ONE FILED: 09/27/2024 AMY M. WOOD, CLERK BY: AMI

ARIZONA FREE ENTERPRISE CLUB, et) Court of Appeals al.,) Division One No. 1 CA-CV 24-0667 Plaintiffs/Appellees,) v.) Maricopa County v.) Superior Court No. CV2024-002760 ADRIAN FONTES, et al.,)) DEPARTMENT D

Defendants/Appellants.)

ORDER GRANTING STAY IN PART, DENYING STAY IN PART

The Court, Presiding Judge Michael S. Catlett, Judge Jennifer M. Perkins, and Vice Chief Judge Randall M. Howe, has considered Appellants' Motion for Stay Pending Appeal, or, Alternatively to Expedite Briefing Schedule, the response, and reply.

A party seeking a stay must establish (1) a strong likelihood of success on the merits, (2) irreparable harm if the stay is not granted, (3) the harm to the appellants outweigh the harm to appellees, and (4) public policy favors granting the stay. *Smith* v. *Ariz. Citizens Clean Elections*, 212 Ariz. 407, 410, $\P\P$ 9-10 (2006).

Based on the parties' arguments and review of the record, in the exercise of the court's discretion, **IT IS ORDERED** that the motion for stay pending appeal is granted in part.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the superior court's preliminary injunction is stayed pending appeal as to the following portions of Chapter 9, Section III(D), of the Election Procedures Manual:

- First paragraph, second sentence.
- Second paragraph in its entirety (including the three bullet point subsections).

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the foregoing stay pending appeal shall remain in place until further order of the Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the motion for stay pending appeal is otherwise denied.

The court has also considered Appellants' alternative request to expedite the briefing schedule.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED denying the request without prejudice to the parties filing briefs as quickly as they wish before the due dates.

A copy of the foregoing was sent to: Andrew W. Gould Drew Curtis Ensign Dallin B Holt Brennan AR Bowen Daniel Tilleman Timothy A LaSota Richard P Lawson Jessica H Steinmann Patricia Nation Michael Berry Karen J Hartman-Tellez RIEVED FROM DEMOCRACYDOCKET.COM Kara Karlson Kyle R Cummings Nathan Arrowsmith Joshua M Whitaker Clinten N Garrett Luci Danielle Davis Lalitha D Madduri Justin Baxenberg Julie Zuckerbrod Tyler Bishop Roy Herrera Daniel A Arellano Jillian Andrews Austin T Marshall Matthew R Koerner Alexis E Danneman John S. Bullock Brandon Delgado